Central Election Commission of Russian Federation held 152nd meeting


On 23 March 2018 the CEC of Russia held its 152nd session dedicated to the results of the presidential election in Russia.

In an opening speech Chairperson of the CEC of Russia Ella Pamfilova stated, “The Constitution of the Russian Federation reads that a referendum and a free election are the supreme and direct expression of the people’s rule. For an election to be recognized both locally and internationally it must be competitive, transparent, and be held strictly in accordance with our laws, while the figures need to be calculated correctly. Since day one the work of all our election commissions and our work was targeting these primary goals. And the presidential election in Russia held on 18 March 2018 fully met these standards.”

Ella Pamfilova said 67 political parties were entitled to take part in the presidential campaign, as compared to only 7 political parties in 2012. The CEC of Russia accepted applications from 36 presidential hopefuls, of which 8 were registered having submitted proper paperwork.

“A record number of over 470,000 voters took part in the election outside Russia, where the voting was monitored by the western media and observers of different political views. The results from the ballot stations outside Russia are not that much different from what was registered inside the country,” the Chairperson of the CEC of Russia stated.

According to Ella Pamfilova, 356,000 observers attended the ballot stations, of which over 157,000 represented civic chambers, more than 105,000 sat on the commissions as non-voting members, and nearly 15,000 observers were accredited journalists, which means every ballot station had nearly 5 observers.

“The presidential election in the Russian Federation welcomed 1,513 foreign observers representing international organizations from 115 countries. These included OSCE/ODIHR, the Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE, Executive Committees of the CIS and the CIS Interparliamentary Assembly, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Belarus-Russia Union, the CSTO, the PABSEC, and many more. Still, reports compiled by some international organizations don’t feature data from their own observers who attended the ballot stations, but feature multiple generalizations based on hearsay and statements fine-tuned to match some pre-arranged findings,” Ella Pamfilova stated.

According to Ella Pamfilova, when an election commission spotted real violations, especially on the voting day, it made decisions immediately, even if it required canceling the voting results at a ballot station.

“By now territorial election commissions have cancelled the voting results across 14 ballot stations at their own discretion. The results at two more stations have been cancelled in court, with election commissions as plaintiffs. Furthermore, yesterday at a CEC of Russia session that looked into complaints we studied piece of data very closely. As a result of this, four election commissions from the constituent entities of the Russian Federation filed complaints to cancel the voting results across 7 ballot stations,” the Chairperson of the CEC of Russia said.

Recapping, Ella Pamfilova stated, “We’ve met our goal fully: The election has been competitive, free, and transparent. It’s been recognized as held, valid, and fully compliant with the law. Vladimir Putin has been elected as the President of the Russian Federation.”

The CEC of Russia signed the record and summary chart with the results of the presidential election in Russia.

Resolution “On the results of the presidential election in Russia held on 18 March 2018”

Election results:

Number of people on voters list

109 008 428


Number of people who voted




Full names of the registered presidential hopefuls in ballot papers

Number of votes received by each registered candidate


absolute figure

per cent of the people who voted


Sergei Nikolayevich BABURIN




Pavel Nikolayevich GRUDININ




Vladimir Volfovich ZHIRINOVSKY




Vladimir Vladimirovich PUTIN




Kseniya Anatolyevna SOBCHAK




Maxim Alexandrovich SURAIKIN




Boris Yuryevich TITOV




Grigory Alekseyevich YAVLINSKY